Saturday, January 28, 2023
Home India SP on road to victory in Mainpuri; BJP wrests Kurhani from Mahagathbandhan

SP on road to victory in Mainpuri; BJP wrests Kurhani from Mahagathbandhan

New Delhi/Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party is all set to retain the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat. At the same time, the BJP wrested the Kurhani assembly seat in Bihar on Thursday, dealing a blow to the Nitish Kumar-led ruling grand alliance in the state, as counting of votes was underway for the December 5 by-elections.

Congress’ Savitri Mandavi was leading in the Bhanupratappur Assembly seat in Chhattisgarh and Anil Kumar was ahead in the Sardarshahar Assembly seat in Rajasthan’s Churu district. Both the seats were held by the ruling Congress in the two states.

In Uttar Pradesh, the RLD and the BJP were ahead in Khatauli and Rampur Sadar assembly seats respectively, while the BJD was leading in the Padampur assembly seat in Odisha’s Bargarh district.

Dimple Yadav, the wife of SP chief Akhilesh Yadav, has taken a lead of over 2.38 lakh votes over her nearest rival BJP candidate Raghuraj Singh Shakya in Mainpuri, a pocket borough of SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav’s family.

RLD’s Madan Bhaiya is leading by over 11,327 votes in Khatauli over the BJP’s Rajkumar Saini, the Election Commission said.

BJP’s Akash Saxena is ahead of Samajwadi Party candidate Asim Raja from Rampur Sadar by 6,746 votes.

BJP candidate Kedar Prasad Gupta defeated Manoj Singh Kushwaha of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) by 3,645 votes in the Kurhani seat in Bihar.

In the cliffhanger of a contest, Gupta polled 76,653 votes while Kushwaha finished with 73,008 votes.

The disqualification of RJD MLA Anil Kumar Sahani necessitated the by-election. The RJD is a constituent of the ruling Mahagathbandhan (grand alliance).