29 Candidates Approved for Srinagar Lok Sabha Contest Post-Scrutiny, 10 Rejected

Srinagar, Apr 26: In accordance to the Election schedule issued by Election Commission of India(ECI) for conduct of Lok Sabha Elections-2024, the process of Scrutiny of Nomination papers submitted by Candidates for Srinagar Lok Sabha Seat was held today(April, 26, 2024 Friday) in the Office of the Returning Officer 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency(DC Office Complex Srinagar).

During the thorough scrutiny of all 39 Nomination papers received, the Returning Officer 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, Dr. Bilal Mohi-Ud-Din Bhat found 29 Nominations valid as per the guidelines of the Election Commission of India.

The Candidates whose Nominations were found valid and accepted include Aga Syed Ruhullah Mehdi from Jammu Kashmir National Conference(JKNC), Mohammad Ashraf Mir from J&K Apni Party, Waheed ur Rehman Parra from Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Amir Ahmad Bhat from Democratic Progressive Azad Party, Younis Ahmad Mir from Bharat Jodo Party, Rubina Akhtar from National Lok Tantrik Party, Hakikat Singh from National Panthers Party(Bhim) and Mohammad Yousuf Bhat from Gana Suraksha Party.

Similarly, the Nomination papers of the candidates for Lok Sabha Elections-2024 namely Sheeban Ashahi, Nissar Ahmad Ahangar, Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, Jibran Dar, Shahnawaz Hussain Bhat, Amin Dar, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Fayaz Ahmad Bhat, Sayim Mustafa, Waseem Hassan Sheikh, Ghulam Mohammad Wani, Hilal Ahmad Dar, Wahida Tabasum, Dr. Qazi Ashraf, Qaiser Sultan Ganai, Abdul Hamid Rather, Javaid Ahmad Wani, Jehangir Ahmad Sheikh, Shabir Ahmad Malik and Sajad Ahmad Dar were also found valid and accepted by the Returning Officer 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency as an Independent Candidates.

On the occasion, the candidature of Salman Sagar from Jammu Kashmir National Conference(JKNC) becomes null and void due to formal consideration/approval of the candidature of the main Candidate of JKNC as he was the covering candidate from the same party.

Likewise, Nominations of 10 Candidates stands rejected as their Nomination papers were found invalid during the scrutiny.

The scrutiny was held in the presence of General Observer for 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency, Mukul Kumar, Contesting Candidates and their proposers.

As per the issued Election Notification, the Candidates can withdraw their nomination on April 29, 2024(Monday) before 03:00 pm in the Office of Returning Officer 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency.

The 02-Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency is scheduled for Elections in the 4th phase of General Lok Sabha Elections-2024 on May 13, 2024.(KNS)

Share post:


More like this